The self-service portal Cloudalize always starts with a quick overview on all your resources. When you log in, you will see the “Dashboard”. From there you are able to navigate to Users to quickly add a new user.
Before following these steps, we recommend to read the how-to on Deploying a Desktop Blueprint, as you’ll need deployed capacity for step 2 in this how-to.
Step 1: Create a user
Step 2: Enable the new user
If you already have a user, you can just click on the user account via the Users button (for team and enterprise customers). If you’re a single user, you can access your user account via Projects -> Default.
If the enable was successful you will see this in the summary. If you scroll down you can set and/or change the user’s password.
Step 3: Enable the workstation
Depending on the users’ needs, you can choose to enable different types of desktops. Because it can be interesting to have multiple desktops available at the same time. They can be purchased on both an hourly and monthly model. In this way, you can choose the desired performance profile depending on the current needs, while keeping the cost as low as possible.
Step 4: Launch the workstation
Now, your user has the selected desktops, it’s time to logon and start working. Both desktops are available to the user. He or she can control basic tasks like start, stop and reboot the machine. You can easily find out what’s the state of your desktops just by looking at status.
Step 5: Let’s start working
By clicking on the launch button, the cloud workstation will instantly launch on your local device. There are different ways of connecting to the desktop, which ones and how to use them can be found here.
You can launch the workstation with either a web browser or in the industry standard citrix receiver application. The latter one gives you nice benefits like connecting with local devices (storage, usb, …) but also the ability to use up to 4 screens with a maximum of 4K resolution.
It’s as easy as that! You just enabled yourself or one of your colleagues to work on a powerful cloud workstation in less than 3 minutes. Happy working!
Please note that, when you un-assign a workstation, that workstation is destroyed. You’ll get notified via a pop-up when trying to disable a workstation or un-assign a workstation to a certain user.